HPS Announces its 2019-20 Teacher of the Year

Howell Public Schools Announces its 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 02/18/2020
2/18/20 - On Thursday, Feb. 13, Kim Hahn, Three Fires Elementary first grade teacher, was named the 2019-2020 Howell Public Schools Teacher of the Year. Hahn was surprised with the Teacher of the Year award by Erin MacGregor, Howell Public Schools superintendent, Bob Starkey, Three Fires Elementary Principal, and many of her former students. Additionally, several Three Fires Elementary teachers and members of Hahn’s family were part of the surprise. Hahn teaching at Howell Public Schools for 18 years.

“Being named Teacher of the Year at Howell Public Schools is a true honor. It is a privilege to be a part of a team of so many dedicated educators, working together daily to ensure the success of all of our students. I am grateful to be a Howell Highlander,” said Hahn.

Hahn received multiple nominations for the award. Each of the nominations highlighted her willingness to always go above and beyond to ensure that all students achieve success, her passion for teaching, and her ability to find innovative ways to deliver the curriculum.

“We had a very large group present to surprise, Mrs. Hahn. In fact, it was the largest group of all of the Teacher of the Year surprises I have been part of. I think that says a lot about her as a teacher and a person,” said MacGregor. “I could list a million things that make Mrs. Hahn such a special educator. Most importantly, she provides a safe environment for our students and challenges them to be their very best.”

“Mrs. Hahn always puts her students first and does what is in the very best interest of her students and to help them succeed,’ said Starkey. “She sets the bar for classroom management and creates an environment where students can take risks and where all students feel loved. She is always an advocate for her students, our school, and Howell Public Schools.”

A committee of 22 district stakeholders comprised of teachers, support staff, parents, central office administrators, and a school board member met February 4 to consider 82 Teacher of the Year nominees. After reviewing the nominations of these outstanding teachers, the committee selected Hahn as this year’s winner. She will now represent Howell Public Schools in the Michigan Teacher of the Year competition.

Please join the entire Howell Public Schools community in congratulating Kim Hahn on her extraordinary work with and dedication to the students of Howell Public Schools. The Howell Board of Education will honor Hahn at its March meeting.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.